Phylum Definition

Phylum is a taxonomic ranking that comes third in the hierarchy of classification, after domain and kingdom. Organisms in a phylum share a set a characteristics that distinguishes them from organisms in another phylum. The qualities that group animals into a phylum have changed throughout scientific history, as better methods have arisen to determine how groups of animals are related. 

Modern phylogenic systematics, or simply phylogenetics, uses a variety of traits to map the changes between different groups of animals. Different hypotheses of how a phylum is related to other phyla (plural of phylum) create different cladograms, which display the relationships visually. 

The cladogram that is the most parsimonious, or has the fewest number of changes, is usually accepted as the most likely hypothesis of the relationships between different phyla. Plants, protists, and bacteria have also been categorized into divisions historically. The word was later changed to phylum.

There are approximately 35 animal phyla, 12 plant phyla, and 7 phyla of fungi. The bacteria, including the archaea, are grouped into roughly 34 phyla, although the relationships between these groups are not as well established. The exact numbers of phyla are never known for sure, as new evidence and techniques are discovered. 

For instance, with the advent of genetic testing many groups that were thought to be monophyletic were found to have very different genetics. Monophyletic is a term that describes a complete group, with all the common ancestors. 

Polyphyletic groups contain organisms that do not share a recent ancestor, and many more groups would have to be included to make the phylum monophyletic. In these cases, the phylum is split into multiple phyla. Other times, two different phyla are found to be closely related and will be combined into the same phylum.

Examples of Phylum

Phylum Chordata

Think of an animal that lives in the zoo. Unless you thought of an octopus or one of the insects in the rainforest pavilion, chances are you thought of an animal in the phylum Chordata. This phylum includes all animals with a notochord, a dorsal hollow nerve chord, and a muscular postanal tail. These three features are seen in every member of this phylum, even humans. 

Like humans, many animals lose some of these features as they develop. This phylum includes everything from the smallest fish and tunicates, to the great apes. It is one of 88 different known phyla. It terms of species, it only has around 50,000 described species. The other phyla combined have well over 2 million described species, with the phylum Arthropoda having well over a million described species itself.

Phylum Arthropoda

By far the largest individual phylum, the Arthropoda includes all the segmented animals will hard skeletons that we know as insects and crustaceans. Everything from deep sea crabs to mosquitoes fit in this phylum. 

The diversity of the arthropods comes from their ability to adapt their hard exoskeleton into almost any shape or function. Because of this, the arthropods have adapted to survive in every environment on the planet.

Phylum Mollusca

This phylum is where the octopus and its relatives are grouped together. The mollusks include all the snails, slugs, clams, mussels, squids and other soft-bodied animals. They often secrete a shell to protect their soft bodies. As the individuals die over time, their shells are shed to the bottom, where they accumulate. Waves push the shells and coral matter onto the beach, where it is repeatedly crushed by the waves. 

In this way, mollusk shells contribute a large majority of the sand that exists on the best beaches. While most of the members are relatively unintelligent and rely on sessile filter feeding, many species are very intelligent, competing with organisms like dolphins and pigs. Different species of octopus, for instance, have completed highly complex tasks to obtain food. Some squid hunt in large predatory packs which work cooperatively to bring down large prey.

Related Biology Terms

  • Kingdom – The classification group above phyla, which includes organisms of a certain type, like animals.
  • Class – The ranking below phyla, whose members share the characters of the phylum, but are have advanced characters that make them unique.
  • Classification – The process of organizing the life on Earth into a meaningful framework for understanding the relationships between animals.
  • Phylogenetics – Comparing the relationship between animals by comparing many of their traits at once.


What is a phylum?

A phylum is a taxonomic rank used to group organisms based on their shared characteristics. It is one of the highest levels of classification, above the level of class and below the level of kingdom. Organisms within a phylum share a common ancestor and are more closely related to each other than they are to organisms in other phyla.

How are organisms assigned to a phylum?

Organisms are assigned to a phylum based on their physical characteristics and evolutionary history. Scientists examine a range of characteristics, such as body shape, reproductive structures, and genetic makeup, to determine which organisms belong to the same phylum.

How many phyla are there?

There is no fixed number of phyla, as new phyla are occasionally discovered and added to the classification system. However, the most widely recognized classification system currently recognizes approximately 35 different animal phyla and several additional phyla for other types of organisms.

What is the importance of phyla in biology?

Phyla are important in biology because they provide a way to organize and classify the diversity of life on Earth. By grouping organisms based on their shared characteristics, scientists can better understand the evolutionary relationships between different species and the processes that have shaped the natural world. Phyla also provide a useful framework for studying and comparing the anatomy, physiology, and behavior of different organisms.

Leave a Comment